Cleaning up the Kitchen: Day 2

Day 2 of cleaning up the kitchen is Eat Leftovers. For us, it’s ended up taking more than just a day. We had pizza on Friday and went out to eat between a wedding and reception on Saturday. So it was pizza for breakfast and lunch for me and the little one. T wasn’t feeling well, so she just had oatmeal and coffee. She’s never too sick for coffee.
Shrimp from Ruby Tuesday ended up being my dinner and T warmed up leftover chicken for the little guy. She had more coffee.
I packed more pizza into the little one’s lunch for today, along with some grapes and peanut butter (Does this sound good to anyone but him? Oh, well, he was excited about it.) and crackers. And there was some left over macaroni and cheese from Panera to go with his dinner.

IMG_20141006_140822_934IMG_20141006_140921_970

There was half a tomato that moved from the old house that really just needed to be tossed, not to mention all the fast food leftovers. But other than that, the scraps of things I found were things that I can use this week. After all that was said and done, I have:
– a few slices of deli turkey that have been in there for a while: A turkey-bacon sandwich for my dinner on Tuesday should use that up.
– a few slices of Canadian bacon and a few English muffins: Several breakfast sandwiches for T will use that up.
– some nearly empty bottles of Pediasure in the door that I’m not sure what to do with; we got it for a friend’s baby who spent the night and I should probably just toss it.
– several containers of mushrooms from before the move:
– two open containers of pizza sauce: There’s no reason to have two open at a time to begin with because it goes bad pretty quickly. We’ll have some bagel pizzas later this week to use up at least one jar. I just wish I knew which one I opened first.

Of course, now I’m coming down with whatever chest cold T picked up, so I think I have to scale back our meal plan ambitions for this week. I did promise the kiddo that we would make muffins at some point this week. And part of my plan is to make lazy tacos. So, I can stretch the easy meals we’ve got to cover this week, I’m sure.

 

This Series

Oct. 4 – Clean out the fridge
Oct. 5-6 – Eat the old stuff
Oct. 7 – Create a grocery budget
Oct. 9 – Ditch hydrogenated oils
Oct. 10-12 – Clean out the Freezer
Oct. 13 – Eat a Simple Meal
Oct. 14 – Make money
Oct. 20 – Bake Bread Plan meals for one week
Oct. 30 – Clean out the pantry and cupboards; Create a signature company dish; Use food twice
Oct. 31 – Budget check-in
Nov. 1 – All the rest

10 thoughts on “Cleaning up the Kitchen: Day 2

Leave a Reply

