Cleaning out the kitchen: Day 5

Day 5 of our challenge has dawned fresh and full of sunshine! OK, really, I don’t work on Fridays and the kiddo is home from school because he’s leaving for a four-day trip this afternoon (yes, I let my five-year old fly by himself). We get to spend a whole day making muffins and drawing super heroes. And yes, we’ll also be cleaning out the freezer which is Day 5 of our Don’t Waste the Crumbs kitchen clean-out challenge.

You may have noticed that these challenges aren’t actually happening every day. One thing that I tend to do is set an expectation for myself for a major change (for example, blogging every day not to mention the challenges) and then get discouraged when life happens. But you know what, life happens. And part of the goal of this challenge is not to let hiccups along the way throw off all the progress I’ve made up to that point.

The freezer

The freezer actually took me all weekend. I wrote most of this post on Friday, took this picture of the freezer:

IMG_20141010_110000_962

Yikes! And then spent the rest of the day with the little one before he flew out that evening. And let me tell you, that was an adventure in and of itself. Did you know they’ll hold a plane for a 5 year old? Yeah.

Any way, Saturday I had other things going on. So it wasn’t until Sunday that I managed to do this:

IMG_20141012_110533_202

Ta da! When we moved, I just shoved everything in haphazardly and turned to other things. This? This is so much better. Now, the meat is all on the left side, with hot dogs and bacon below and assorted meat on top. On the bottom right, I’ve got vegetables. And on the top right, I’ve got a bin full of breakfast stuff that I made and froze and mason jars full of broth made from a turkey we had at New Years.

As to trans fats, here’s what I found that had hydrolyzed oils in it:

IMG_20141012_130409_603

This was a bummer. The breakfast sandwiches aren’t too bad. They were simply something we grabbed during the move so T could have something she liked for breakfast until we found pots and pans again. Usually we make breakfast sandwiches fresh. So no big deal there.

But the ice cream was a real issue. And the Thin Mints make me really really sad. There was only one serving left of the ice cream, so T ate that and we agreed that we wouldn’t buy that one again. There was other ice cream that didn’t have any hydrolyzed oils, so it’s not like this is a no-ice-cream-every-again thing.

But the thin mints. Oh the thin mints. This is where my heart breaks. I make smores with these lovely little cookies. They are the perfect little crunchy chocolate goodness to sandwich a marshmallow between. And with all the camping and backyard fires that we do, smores are a summer staple. This one may be a topic to revisit later when the girl scouts come around again. Le sigh.

Now, back to Friday…

The muffins

I’ve been wanting to make muffins with the little one since even before we moved, but things kept coming up. So finally when he was out of school Friday (teacher conferences) we got to make muffins!

IMG_20141010_100258_642

We use Hodgeson Mills’ blueberry and flaxseed muffin mix. I’ve yet to find a from-scratch muffin recipe that I enjoy, so for now we use this. (Any suggestions would be welcome.) These ones are a bit heavy, but the little one loves them. So I don’t complain.
IMG_20141010_101310_166IMG_20141010_105900_857

In the end we made 24 mini muffins (I froze 18) and some pancakes (I froze 2 that were large enough for the toaster,), and we had some much-needed mother/son time.

Then T came in and made me scrambled eggs with onions, mushrooms and salsa. She’s awesome like that.

The grocery budget

And finally, the grocery check in. Remember they my grocery week is Friday-Thursday (because work), so this accounting is for the week from Oct. 3 to Oct. 9.

So for groceries we’ve spent $80.90 (find the break down of that trip here), but we’ve also spent $167.15 on food outside of the house. That’s problematic, but to be fair, I didn’t find pots and pans until Friday. So there’s that. I tried to make meatloaf, but couldn’t find the food processor to grind any vegetables. So obviously things are a work in progress. It’s frustrating, but I know it will get better.

 

This Series

Oct. 4 – Clean out the fridge
Oct. 5-6 – Eat the old stuff
Oct. 7 – Create a grocery budget
Oct. 9 – Ditch hydrogenated oils
Oct. 10-12 – Clean out the Freezer
Oct. 13 – Eat a Simple Meal
Oct. 14 – Make money
Oct. 20 – Bake Bread Plan meals for one week
Oct. 30 – Clean out the pantry and cupboards; Create a signature company dish; Use food twice
Oct. 31 – Budget check-in
Nov. 1 – All the rest

10 thoughts on “Cleaning out the kitchen: Day 5

Leave a Reply

