Cleaning out the Kitchen: Day 6

I’ve been looking forward to Day 6 of Don’t Waste the Crumbs kitchen challenge since we started. Today’s challenge is: Eat a Simple Meal.

We are a Simple Meals Family (TM). I swear, nearly every meal we eat takes about 30 minutes to make. When we aren’t mid-move we often do one meal a week that’s more involved, often if company is coming over. I think going forward that will be how I develop our meal plans. More on that in Day 9’s challenge.

My original plan was to make Lazy Tacos before work, but that was when I expected to get to Day 6 sooner than this. We made the tacos one night after work and it supplemented dinners and lunches for a few days. That’s my favorite kind of simple meal: Something that’s easy to make and that can be reheated for later meals. A lot of our simple meals aren’t as re-heat-able. I ended up using the last of the taco meat to make a taco salad for T’s dinner.
WP_20141013_15_17_25_Pro

I actually took on two cooking projects today. We didn’t get up til afternoon (the lovely side of having a long weekend to ourselves), so we ended up only making two meals. For breakfast, T made nested eggs and bacon, frying up some extra bacon for sandwiches. For our dinners apart, I made sandwiches and salads.

WP_20141013_15_25_45_Pro

The other project I took on, though, was making 11 peanut butter and jelly uncrustables for the little one’s lunches. Going in, it kinda sounded like I went overboard, but then T ended up having 3 of them with breakfast. Rather than freezing them as I planned, I put them in the fridge so the two of them can grab them this week. I originally thought they’d sit in the freezer and go one a week into the little one’s lunches through December. Now, I don’t think they’ll last past Thursday. I’m glad to have something prepped to make the early mornings much easier.

WP_20141013_13_46_40_Pro

WP_20141013_13_59_39_Pro

 

 

 

 

 

I threw the crusts in the a bag and put them in the freezer. I’ll pop them in the oven later this week and toast them for bread crumbs.

This Series

Oct. 4 – Clean out the fridge
Oct. 5-6 – Eat the old stuff
Oct. 7 – Create a grocery budget
Oct. 9 – Ditch hydrogenated oils
Oct. 10-12 – Clean out the Freezer
Oct. 13 – Eat a Simple Meal
Oct. 14 – Make money
Oct. 20 – Bake Bread Plan meals for one week
Oct. 30 – Clean out the pantry and cupboards; Create a signature company dish; Use food twice
Oct. 31 – Budget check-in
Nov. 1 – All the rest

10 thoughts on “Cleaning out the Kitchen: Day 6

Leave a Reply

