Resolutions – January

So I broke down and made a ton of New Year’s resolutions for 2015. There are a few major areas of my life where I just want to shape things up and with a wedding and a baby on the way, now seems like the time to do it.

I have seven categories for things I want to work on this year: Food. Fitness. Finances. Fun. Puppy training (I ran out of F words). Work. And activities for D.

First of all, January is a free-for-all month. I specifically built my resolutions to start in February for a few reasons.

  • January is freaking cold in Michigan. I don’t want to do anything right now and the disaster of a house we’re in sucks all my drive.
  • We’re moving out of said house on Jan. 18. I don’t want to try to be fitting in a ton of cooking time around packing and moving things. And frankly, my workout routine at the moment consists of said packing.
  • Also, on the fitness front, I got a step counter for Christmas. I have a goal in mind for how much I should be walking, but I want to get a baseline first. (I’ll tell you a secret: It’s way lower than I expected.)
  • Financially, there’s just nothing extra after paying the movers. We’re eating through the food we have in the house and eating out very little. There isn’t anything extra to put toward debt or wedding savings or anything. Although, we did just start a second type of college saver account for D.
  • See above for fun.
  • Puppy training has started, but she’s still very much a baby and we are still in the figuring-each-other-out phase.
  • And finally on the activities front, D is switching schools this month with the move and we want to give him time to get settled in first.
Here’s what I am doing in January:

Food: We’re eating through as much in the house as we can and I’m packing the things we’re taking to the new house. We’re also casting a critical eye on anything that gets packed. Things we don’t want in the house will be donated when me move. (We’re also doing this with clothes and cookware.)

Fitness: As I said above, this month is setting a baseline for me. I originally said I’d walk 10,000 steps per day and do yoga once per week. Well, the puppy peed on my yoga mat and I’m averaging about 5000 steps per day. But I’m also packing at least one bin or box per day and I keep rearranging the boxes. I’m counting it as exercise.

Finances: As I said up top, there isn’t a lot to go around, but thus far we’ve managed not to use any credit cards this year. I’d like to keep it that way. I’ve also set aside $300 toward a cushion on the rental home mortgage for when the tenants move out (just in case).

Fun: I’m going to have more of it. I just don’t know what that looks like yet. One of the big things, I think, is T and I doing our own thing every once in a while. It doesn’t happen often, but when it does it feels like a revelation. I think we need to schedule that just as much as we need to plan date nights every now and again.

Work: I’ve begun tweeting pages more regularly. The best of then can be found on my home page or by clicking “My Work” up top. Find me on Twitter: @alicia_secord. I will occasionally let myself off the hook on particularly bad days, but in the interest of being honest with myself, I’m going to try to post every section front I design. I will post a best of blog post at the end of each month.

Puppy training: At the moment it’s more “people training” than anything else. Remembering the her-bathroom-is-outside-and-yes-we-have-to-take-her-even-though-it’s-snowing thing is one we have to learn before we can teach her anything.

The kid’s activities: The week after we get into the new house, I plan to check around for swim lessons for D. He can probably start in March after we get back from our family getaway. T is also looking for a summer T-ball league. If they’re lucky, she may even get to coach his team this year.

There is one other thing that I will be doing in January: I want to post my plan for tackling these resolutions and what I want from the next year. Hopefully, by the end of the year I’ll have a better grasp of what works for me in each area and what I want from life in general.

I am the woman with a plan.

5 thoughts on “Resolutions – January

Leave a Reply

